My Shell

Curious to think
If the world is upset with me
Does it intentionally torture me
With simplicity
When I ask for complications
I ask to be struck
And always flinch
Is that unfair to impose
Again and again
I only ask for what is plentiful
Does a hermit crab get refused
From the turmoil of living
As he is protected in his shell
Is he rewarded as prey
For leaving his shell for a new one
That moment of vulnerability
That looks like living
Will I be rewarded with emotion
If I leave my shell

Leave a Reply

